Six individuals have joined the Alumni Association Board of Directors, which works in cooperation with the Alumni Relations staff to provide programs, services and events for alumni.

Elected to their first, three-year terms were Tom Lamont ’69; Kathy Coyle Murdoch ’86; Bob Navarro ’91, M.S. ’93, Ph.D. ’02; Mike Willis ’82, and Jerry Wright ’62. Rob McLear ’06 began a one-year term as the Student Alumni Council representative.

Lamont lives in Springfield, where he worked as a law firm lobbyist before retirement. He is a former member of the University of Illinois Board of Trustees. Murdoch resides in Normal and works as a medical technologist in the laboratory of OSF St. Joseph Hospital in Bloomington. Navarro, of Chicago, is a former student government leader. He works for a university residence organization in Chicago that offers housing to students attending downtown colleges.

Willis is a long-time member of the Black Colleagues Association and has served as the organization’s president. He is a Cook County probation officer and resides in Chicago. Wright has served on the Technology Department advisory board. He is retired from Caterpillar and resides in Trivoli.

The following board members were elected as officers: Don Shafer ’76, Peoria, president; Dan Kelley ’70, Normal, vice president; Emily Miller Kimmey ’99, M.S. ’01, St. Louis, secretary; and Kristin Emmert Shaner ’86, Morton, treasurer.

All graduates are automatic members of the Alumni Association. Alumni who have made a gift to the Illinois State University Foundation in the current or preceding year have active membership status and are eligible to serve on the board.