A ceremony will be held during Homecoming to welcome five individuals into the University’s Athletics Hall of Fame. The 2009 inductees include former student-athletes Kendra Haselhorst-Bull ’01, Dan Muller ’98, Chris Quigley ’72, Melanie Ward ’96, and Priscilla Welch-DeLaere ’98. Kurt Pegler ’87 will receive the Campbell “Stretch” Miller Award.

Haselhorst-Bull competed on the volleyball team, and was a four-time All-Missouri Valley Conference selection. A resident of Bloomington, she owns her own graphic design business, Something Special Designs. Muller was a member of the men’s basketball team. He was a two-time Valley Defensive Player of the Year. Muller is a member of Vanderbilt University’s coaching staff, and resides in Franklin, Tennessee.

Quigley was on the University’s wrestling team. In 1972 he was the national runner-up in the 126-pound weight class. A teacher and coach at Romeoville High School, Quigley resides in Hennepin. Ward competed on the women’s basketball team. She was a two-time first-team All-Valley selection as a Redbird. She resides in Bloomington and is employed with Horizon Hobby, Inc. Welch-DeLaere, who played on the softball team, remains the career leader in hits at the University. A teacher and softball coach at Pekin Community High School, she resides in Pekin.

Pegler is the sports director at WMBD-TV in Peoria, where he resides. He will receive the award named in honor of former Redbird athlete Campbell Miller. The award celebrates the contributions of individuals who were not athletes, but who have contributed to the success of Illinois State Athletics.

The honorees will be inducted during an 8 a.m. banquet on Saturday, October 17, in the Bone Student Center Brown Ballroom. Tickets for the event are $25, and can be purchased by calling Marianne Riddell at (309) 438-3639.