Illinois State University will honor 14 faculty members for teaching and research during the Founders Day Convocation at 2 p.m. on Thursday, Feb. 18, in the Bone Student Center Brown Ballroom.

Craig Gatto of the Biological Sciences department and Sesha Kethineni of the Criminal Justice Sciences department are the 2009 Outstanding University Researchers. The Outstanding University Research Award goes to faculty whose research has been acknowledged by their peers in the U.S. and internationally.

Margaret Nauta of the Psychology department and Rosie Hauck of the Accounting department are the 2009-10 Outstanding University Teachers. Jennifer McDade of the School of Communication and Catherine Kaesberg of Mennonite College of Nursing are the Category 2 Outstanding University Teachers, a classification for non-tenured faculty. The Outstanding University Teacher Award is given to faculty whose teaching accomplishments are unusually significant and meritorious among their colleagues.

Research Initiative Award recipients include Katherine Ellison, English; Erik Larson, Biological Sciences; Hedda Meadan-Kaplansky, Special Education; Christopher Mulligan, Chemistry; and Cara Rabe-Hemp, Criminal Justice Sciences. The Research Initiative Award is given to faculty members who have initiated a promising research agenda early in their academic careers.

Teaching Initiative Award recipients include Hae Jin Gam, Family and Consumer Sciences; Shamira Gelbman, Politics and Government; and Martha Horst, Music. The Teaching Initiative Award is given to faculty members who have shown considerable promise in teaching early in their careers.