The Ada Belle Clark Welsh Scholarship for Women is a one-time award of approximately $2,500 for women with an undergraduate degree who show promise and are deserving of graduate level educational opportunities in liberal arts and humanities, including study for teacher preparation and improvement.

The Association of Black Academic Employees Book Scholarship is a $300 award for African Americans in good academic and disciplinary standing.

The Black Colleagues Association Scholarship Fund provides $1,000 academic scholarships for prospective African-American students who are pursuing a college education but find it financially difficult.

Breaking Barriers received the 2010 Outstanding New Program Award at the 22nd Annual Commitment to Diversity Awards Ceremony.

The College of Business Minority Scholarships are awarded in the amount of $1,000 annually and are renewable for four years for entering minority freshmen and community college transfers majoring or minoring in business.

Disability Concerns continued expansion of the Text Conversion Lab through newly developed technologies to support the implementation of closed captioning of videos, DVDs, MP3s and online video captioning.
Cassandra Certeza, senior, majoring in Special Education as a low vision specialist

The Disability Concerns Educational Enhancement Scholarship is an anonymous award in the amount of $2,000 given to five students (for a total of $10,000 annually) who are existing clients of Disability Concerns, have a mobility disability, vision impairment, hearing impairment, speech disorder or traumatic brain injury and who demonstrate financial need.

The Donald F. McHenry Fellowship is a one-time award of $6,000 plus a tuition waiver for one academic year to U.S. citizens of African, Asian, Hispanic or Native American ethnicity who have been admitted to a full-time graduate program.

Anu Gokhale, TEC, is continuing her National Science Foundation grant work to enhance participation of females in computer-oriented careers. One of the grant activities during the past year was the integration of six student learning community seminars into MAT 120. Of the six industry professionals who served as seminar leaders, two were women along with one Latino male and one African American male.

In response to the anticipated shortage of minority teachers in Illinois, the Mary F. English Technology Award was established to assist in the statewide effort of recruiting disadvantaged and minority students in teacher education programs. Freshman minority students with a declared major in one of the teaching professions are awarded a computer and printer.

The $500 McNair Book Fellowship is offered to incoming or continuing Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement Program Scholars admitted to graduate degree programs and enrolled full-time.

The $5,000, four-year University Scholarship is awarded to academically talented minority incoming freshmen from traditionally underrepresented groups or first generation college students who have overcome hardship in achieving their academic goals.

Minority Graduate Tuition Waivers are provided on a case-by-case basis for U.S. Citizens of African American, American Indian, Asian or Hispanic descent who are seeking to enter or are in a graduate degree program, but do not have a graduate assistantship. McNair Tuition Waiver Fellowships are provided to students who have completed the requirements for a McNair Program Scholar at a college or university authorized to offer Ronald E. McNair Post-baccalaureate Achievement programs.

The Minority Teacher Recruitment Project is a joint effort between the City of Bloomington and Town of Normal high schools and three local colleges to attract minority students to the profession of teaching.

The Minority Professional Development grant provides financial assistance to selected minority students who wish to participate in academic or professional activities of their choosing. The program is coordinated by the Julia N. Visor Academic Center, a division of University College.

Eight students were selected to receive the Run for Academic Success and Excellence $500 textbook scholarships created by Rick Lewis, Dean of Students Office.

The Dr. Judith Joan Smithson Scholarship is a private award in the amount of $500 for graduate students who pursue a degree program, certification program or job enhancement through graduate classes, are disabled as defined by the Americans with Disabilities Act and willing to serve as a spokesperson for Disability Concerns.

The State Farm Minority Scholars in Actuarial Science is a $5,000 award funded by a State Farm Foundation grant to support educational opportunities for academically talented minority students interested in a professional career as an actuary.

The TEAM Up to Teach: Teacher Education Access for Minorities project obtained an HECA Grant through the IBHE fund to “grow” minority teacher recruitment and retention among Illinois State, City Colleges of Chicago, Chicago Public Schools and the Bloomington-Normal Education Alliance.

The Vincent Lionel Davis Scholarship Fund was established by the Davis family in memory of their son, brother, husband and father who died on Feb. 11, 1992 in the line of duty as an employee of the Dallas, Texas fire department. The $1,000 award is given to young African Americans who are pursuing a college education but need financial assistance.

The Women’s Studies Achievement Award of $250 is given to a Women’s Studies graduating minor based on overall academic standing and service to Women’s Studies or on behalf of women’s issues.

Angela Davenport, Diversity Advocacy, was honored with a 2010 YWCA Women of Distinction Award, a national initiative recognizing the professional and personal achievements of women.