The results of the 2010-2011 James L. Fisher Outstanding Thesis Award Competition have been announced by Rodney Custer, associate vice president for Research, Graduate Studies, and International Education. Recipients will receive their awards at a ceremony on Monday, Nov. 29, at noon in the Old Main Room at the Bone Student Center.

All college winners will be presented with $200 awards. The university runner-up receives an additional $100 award, while the overall university winner receives an additional $200 award plus $200 as the Illinois State University submission to the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) regional competition.

Lisbeth Joergensen of Denmark, representing the College of Arts & Sciences, Department of English, was the overall university winner with the thesis “The Restless Dictionary.” Her thesis will be submitted to the regional Distinguished Masters’ Thesis Award Competition.

The runner-up is Andrea Hanson of Saint Paul, Minn., representing the College of Applied Science & Technology, Department of Agriculture. Her thesis is titled “Effects of Sow Housing on Sow Well Being, Gestation Behavior, and Farrowing/Lactation Performance.”

Winners from each college were Nicholas Beaty of Chicago, College of Arts & Sciences, Politics & Government, “Political Spirituality or Rethinking the Enlightenment: A Reflection on Michel Foucault’s Writings on the Iranian Revolution;” Angela Kerr of Normal, College of Arts & Sciences, Biological Sciences, for “Experimentally-Induced Reproductive Effort and Immune Responses Reveal a Trade-Off between Immunity and the Provision of Nuptial Food Gifts in Male Decorated Crickets;” Alison Hatcher of Normal, College of Fine Arts, Art, for “Making Britain ‘Visible’: Hew Locke’s King Creole at Tate Britain;” and Stephanie DeSpain of Streator, College of Education, Special Education, for “Perceived Transition Service Needs of High School Students with High functioning Autism and Asperger Syndrome during the Transition to Postsecondary Education.”