The Bloomington and Normal Human Relations commissions will be accepting nominations for the annual Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Awards.

The awards go to one high school student and one adult for their time and service to the human rights and human relations cause. Nomination forms are available online for the Youth I Have A Dream Award and the Adult Human Relations Award.

Illinois State faculty and staff have been honored in past years. Director of Campus Dining Services Arlene Hosea, who serves on the commission, noted former Illinois State winners reflect the dedication of the University to King’s ideals.

“It is inspiring to see those from our campus who have done great work,” said Hosea. “I hope their example will inspire others to nominate deserving Illinois State employees who reflect the spirit of Dr. King’s legacy.”

Past Illinois State University winners include such faculty and staff as Mary Campbell, Wilbert Davis, Kathryn Dean, Orlyn Edge, the Rev. James Pruyne and Frank Suggs among others.

Nominations are due no later than Friday Nov. 29, and can be delivered or mailed to Ernestine Jackson, Bloomington Human Relations Commission, 109 E. Olive St.,
Bloomington, IL 61701. Nominators can also fax applications to 434-2831.

The awards will be presented at the annual Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Awards Luncheon on Saturday, Jan. 18, at the Marriott Hotel. The speaker will be Kevin Powell, discussing The Legacy of Dr. King for Today’s Younger Generation. Tickets are $20 in advance, and will be available in November by contacting Sally Heffernan of the Town of Normal at 454-9504.