Each year Illinois State’s Alumni Association proudly recognizes individuals who personify the University’s tradition as an environment for excellence. Through outstanding achievements and contributions, these individuals bring honor to Illinois State and the Alumni Association.

Established in 1971 with one award, the program has grown to five award categories to better recognize the accomplishments of alumni at different stages of their careers.

The 2014 Alumni Award winners were honored on Founders Day on February 20, 2014:

Distinguished Alumni Award
Carl Kasten ’66

Senator John W. Maitland Jr. Commitment to Education Award
Willie Brown ’73

E. Burton Mercier Alumni Service Award
Kathleen Hogan, M.S. ’72, Ed.D. ’85
Ronald Williams ’60

Alumni Achievement Award
John “Jack” Hartung ’79, M.B.A. ’80

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Jessica (Thompson) Rau ’03

Check out this video interview with the six honorees on Founders Day:

Contact STATEside’s editor at rmdenha@IllinoisState.edu.