The Department of English at Illinois State University congratulates Ph.D. candidate Flourice Richardson on being awarded the 2014 Scholars for the Dream Award.

This award is prestigious in the disciplines of rhetoric and composition, and this was the most competitive year in the history of the National Council for Teachers of English (NCTE).

NCTE’s Conference on College Composition and Communication sponsors the Scholars for the Dream Awards to encourage scholarship by historically underrepresented groups whose contributions are central to the full realization of our professional goals. The winners are chosen based upon originality of research, significance of pedagogical or theoretical contributions to the field, and potential for larger, subsequent projects.

The award includes travel funds, membership to NCTE and CCCC, and an awards ceremony and reception attended by the executive committee, past winners of the award, and friends and allies in the field.