Each year the Illinois State University Alumni Association recognizes individuals who personify the University’s tradition as an environment for excellence. Established in 1971 with just one award, the program has grown to five award categories.

Presented annually at the Founders Day Convocation, the awards include the Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Alumni Achievement Award, E. Burton Mercier Service Award, Distinguished Alumnus Award, and the Senator John Maitland Jr. Commitment to Education Award. Recipients are also honored by the association at a recognition dinner where they the have the opportunity to speak and formally accept the award.

Each award may have up to three recipients annually except the Distinguished Alumni Award, which is only awarded to one individual who qualifies by having previously won either a Young, Service, Achievement, or Maitland award, or be a past inductee into an Illinois State college Hall of Fame.

Nominations are due May 31, 2014, to be considered for the 2015 Founders Day Convocation. Visit Alumni.IllinoisState.edu/Awards for full details and requirements for how to nominate someone for an award.