New freshmen and new transfer students nominated the following Illinois State faculty, staff and students for a 2014 Impact Award. Students are contacted to nominate an individual at Illinois State who has made a difference in their education and academic success.

image of the Impact Awards logoThis award is designed to show appreciation for the impact individual members of the campus community have on our new students and on student retention.


Please join us in congratulating the following individuals for their significant contributions to our students and to first-year retention.

Academic Advisors:

Corey Burgess, M.S., Academic Advisor, University College

Alexandra Cherveny*, Academic Advisor, Chemistry

Senesta Davis*, M.S.W., Sponsored Project Program Coordinator, University College

Nuusa Faamoe*, Academic Advisor, University College

Ronald Gifford, Ph.D., Academic Advisor, History

Ryan Gray*, M.Ed, Academic Advisor, English

Kirk Hines, M.S., Academic Advisor, University College

Shauna Hoffman, M.S., Assistant Coordinator, University College

Jane Koscielak, Academic Advisor, Special Education

Christina Martin, M.S., Academic Advisor/Assistant Director, Honors Program

Patrick McNulty, Academic Advisor, University College

Rebecca Mentzer, M.S., Academic Advisor/Associate Director Honors, Honors Program

David Pletcher*, M.S., M.A., Academic Advisor, University College

Jessica Pratapas, M.S., Academic Advisor, University College

Erik Rankin, M.S., Academic Advisor, Politics and Government

Sarah Roth, Academic Advisor, Honors Program

Daphyne Walker, M.S. in Ed., Academic Advisor, School of Kinesiology and Recreation

Susan Woollen*, M.S., Assistant to the Department Chairperson, Criminal Justice Sciences



Jessica Abenante, Criminal Justice Sciences

Emily Amadio, Nursing

Marie Bedoun, Business Administration

Ma.Jesjuanneglo Bontigao, Community Health Education

Alex Brewer, International Business

Megan Briesath, Public Relations Student Society of America

Breeanna Cannon, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Wright

Kyle Carstens, Community Health Education

Ellen Childress, Big Red Marching Machine

Maridsa Choute, News Editorial

Javin Cotton, Mentoring and Academic Success Achievement Initiative

Kyle Cotton-Berry, ISU Pride

Cassandra Cronin, Undeclared

Anthony Crudup, National Association of the Advancement of Colored People

Eddine Dalton, Graphic Communication

Paige Egan, Business Administration

Allison Fadke, Spanish Teacher Education

Bianca Gerardi, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Wright

Jennifer Hehner, Special Education

Jessica Henry, Family and Consumer Sciences

Kevin Hodge, School of Music

Michaela Huff, Family and Consumer Sciences

Ryan Ingrassia, To Write Love on Her Arms

Gustav Johnson, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Manchester

Charnise Jones, Elite Vogue Experience

Allison Kramer, Pi Beta Phi

Lisa Lodesky, Psychology

Davonte Longmire, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Wright

Wendy Mazur, Middle Level Teacher Education

Olivia Mosley, Elementary Education

Morgan Obery, Agribusiness

Mackenzie O’Malley, Preview Guide – University College

Anna Pignatiello, Special Education

Lauren Russell, Nursing

Michael Schumacher, History

Lauren Thomas, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Hewett

Moriah Ward, Special Education

Robert Warnsley, My Brotha’s Keeper

Matthew Weber*, Resident Assistant, University Housing – Hewett



Marcus Alouan, M.S., Director, Gamma Phi Circus

Susan Baker-Bachman, M.A., Associate Director, Career Center

Roger Behrens*, Building Service Worker, Building/Grounds Management

Maureen Blair, M.S. in Ed., Director, University Housing Services

Rachel Caracci, M.B.A., Assistant Director, Admissions

Jordan Carey, Coordinator Assistant Residence Hall, University Housing

Pamela Cooper, M.S. in Ed., Associate Director, Career Center

Lynne Frichtl, Dietitian Nutritionist, Health Services

Lori Henehan, M.Rehab.Coun., Assistant Director, Disability Concerns

Elizabeth Henkel, Specialist, Financial Aid

Jason Link, IT Technical Associate, TechZone Student Technologies

Christa Platt, M.S., Coordinator of Academic Services, University College

Beth Snyder, Associate Director Annual Fund, University Advancement

Jeffrey Spenard, Academic Coordinator, Athletics Study Center

Brittany Stokes, M.Ed., Specialist Dean of Students, Diversity Advocacy

Mike Warden, Extra Help Semi-Skilled, School of Theatre and Dance

Anthony Williams*, Graduate Assistant, University College



Julius W. Anderson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences

Wayne Beckner, M.F.A., Associate Professor, School of Art

Daphne Blader, Graduate Assistant Teaching, Family and Consumer Sciences

Christina Borders, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Special Education

Linda S. Bowman, M.S., Director of Speech and Hearing Clinic, Communication Sciences and Disorders

Cynthia Brown, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Theatre and Dance

Bruce Burningham, Ph.D., Department Chairperson, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures

Brooke Burns, Graduate Assistant Teaching, English

David Cedeño, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry

Laura Dickenson, Instructional Assistant Professor, Special Education

Nerida Ellerton, Ph.D., Professor, Mathematics

Saad El-Zanti, Ph.D., Professor, Mathematics

Brian Franklin, M.F.A., Assistant Professor, School of Art

Theodore Fuller, M.S., Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Tera Galloway, Assistant Professor, Management and Quantitative Methods

Sarah Gentry, Mus.D., Professor, School of Music

Lee Anne R. Hale*, Lecturer, School of Communication

Jodi Hallsten*, M.A., Lecturer, School of Communication

Kira Hamann, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Teaching and Learning

Ann Haugo, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Theatre and Dance

Rebecca Hayes, Assistant Professor, School of Communication

Sarah Hochstetler, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, English

Doris Houston, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Social Work

Timothy Hunt, Ph.D., University Professor, English

Gary Lewis, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Mathematics

David Malone, Ph.D., Professor, Geology

Donald Meyer, Lecturer, Agriculture

Amanda Miller, Instructional Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Janet Moore, Instructional Assistant Professor, University College

Jan Murphy*, Ph.D., Professor, Family and Consumer Sciences

Richard Nagorski, Ph.D., Professor, Chemistry

Evan Nave, Graduate Assistant Teaching, English

Patrice Olsen, Ph.D., Associate Professor, History

Jennifer Peterson, Lecturer, Health Sciences

Aaron Pitluck, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Sociology and Anthropology

Hilary Selznick, Graduate Assistant Teaching, English

William Shields*, M.S., Specialist, Geography-Geology

Michelle Sleevar, M.S. in Ed., Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Teaching and Learning

Joseph Solberg, J.D., Professor, Finance Insurance and Law

Justin Stanek, Instructional Assistant Professor, School of Kinesiology and Recreation

Kelley Sullivan, Graduate Assistant Teaching, School of Communication

Mark Temple, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Health Sciences

Justin Vickers, Assistant Professor, School of Music

Kyle Waznis, Graduate Assistant Teaching, School of Communication


*Received more than one nomination

For more information on the Impact Awards, go to the University College website.