Skip to main content

School of IT celebrates 2013-2014 student achievements

people in a room

Nearly 100 family, friends, and colleagues attended the School of Information Technology’s reception April 11 to honor students’ achievements during the 20132014 school year. Thanks to Business and Industry Advisory Council member Eric Cook, the reception was held at State Farm’s Oakland Avenue building. Mary Elaine Califf, director of the school, recapped highlights from the year. Associate Professor Glen Sagers presented several awards.

• Distinguished FreshmanGregory Hill
• Outstanding SophomoreEvan Rappé and Adam Ringwood
• Distinguished JuniorMaribel Arellano
• Outstanding JuniorAshlee Heider
• Outstanding SeniorNathan Gregg and Evan Stalter
• Distinguished Graduate StudentAbha Sharma
• Outstanding Graduate StudentScott Weathered
• Outstanding Graduate AssistantAnkit Rathore

Dr. Winn Mahatanankoon recognized the graduating National Science Foundation (NSF) Scholars.

Fall 2013
• Bradley Hasse
• Andrew Lester
• Jason Manley

Spring 2014
• Jennilee Benda
• Dale Dominick
• Theodore Huntley
• Cameron Bove-Kruse
• Terry Lynn
• Thomas Lyons
• Kevin Solava
• Evan Urzen

Eric Cook awarded the prizes for the Mobile App Development (MAD) Contest sponsored by State Farm. Judges for the pitch presentation were Sagers, Assistant Professor Amit Shesh, Califf, and Lecturer Naresh Chintalcheru.

Judges for the final presentation were Kentrica Coleman, data specialist; Matt Jarrett, systems analyst; Drew Jaeger, systems analyst; and Eric Cook, project manager.

Finalists were
• Kevin Logan, “Challenge Accepted”
• Kristopher Akers, “Hack the Planet, Save the World”
• Daniel Evens and Josh Bates, “Pokedex”
• Rachel Schifano and Austin Savage, “Ergosphere”
• Steven Squaire and Luke Gloudeman, “Intro”

Adam Ringwood and Kevin Logan reported on the year’s activities in the student clubs.