Nominations are being sought for the Strand Diversity Achievement Award.

This award recognizes a current Illinois State University faculty or staff member who is instrumental in extraordinary curricular or program activities that assist the University in responding to its core value to diversity as outlined in Educating Illinois. Nominations will be accepted from now through Friday, Nov. 14.

Nomination forms are available.

The award recipient will be announced during the spring semester Founders Day celebration, and will receive individual recognition and a cash award. Faculty, staff, students, alumni, emeritus faculty, retirees and friends of the University are encouraged to make nominations.

Those nominating must submit a copy of the nominee’s resume or vitae including any materials supporting the nominee’s commitment to diversity. Also needed is a letter of nomination that describes the scope, outcomes, uniqueness and impact of the nominee’s contributions to the University community, as well as a letter of support from the nominee’s immediate supervisor and one letter of support from a colleague of the nominee. Note: All nominees will need to submit an additional statement addressing how he or she has promoted diversity as articulated in Educating Illinois.

President Emeritus David Strand, who has served as an administrator and faculty member at Illinois State University since 1978, established the Strand Diversity Achievement Award. Previous recipients of this award are:

Sam Mungo (Teaching and Learning) 
Julia Visor (University Center for Learning Assistance and English) 
Ronald Strickland (English), 
Maura Toro-Morn (Sociology/Anthropology), 
Louis Pérez (History), 
Ming-Gon John Lian (Special Education)
, Madeleine Hoss (Metcalf School), 
María E. Canabal (Family and Consumer Sciences), 
Marilyn Boyd (International Studies), 
Kim Pereira (Theatre), 
Christopher Horvath (Philosophy), 
Nancy Tolson (English)
, Alison Bailey (Women’s Studies), 
Paula Ressler (English), 
Ronald Swan (ISU Police), 
Rick Lewis (Dean of Students Office),  
Beverly Nance (University College), 
Robert E. Lee (College of Education), 
Touré F. Reed (History)
 and S.J. Chang (College of Business)

All nominated faculty and staff members must currently hold a full-time position in the University. For questions about nominations, contact Angela Davenport in Diversity Advocacy at