This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anu Gokhale and Matt Aldeman were inducted into the Illinois State University Million Dollar Club for securing at least $1 million in external funding over their careers. Gokhale has been a technology faculty member since August 1995. Aldeman is currently with Illinois States University’s Center for Renewable Energy, but will be joining the Department of Technology’s renewable energy faculty in August 2015.

Some of Gokhale’s research projects have dealt with encouraging female students to enroll in computer-related courses of study. Most recently, her National Science Foundation grant created an innovative structure for preparing in-service and future high school teachers to teach computer science called teacher education in computer science (TECS). This state-approved program of study will prepare students who complete it to pass the certification exam for the computer science endorsement. The National Science Foundation provided $700,000 over three years for the TECS project.

At the Center for Renewable Energy, Aldeman provides technical assistance and public outreach to the external community, assists faculty in applied research, and operates the Center’s SODAR unit, meteorological tower, and off-grid hybrid wind/solar system.

Research and Sponsored Programs annually recognizes faculty who have secured $1 million in external funding over their career. Past Technology inductees include Franzie Loepp, Rodney Custer, Chris Merrill, Richard Boser, and Josh Brown.