The National Student Speech Language Hearing Association and the Student Academy of Audiology held the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders’ annual banquet April 24. The banquet is a time for all of students and faculty to come together and celebrate the accomplishments throughout the year. This year’s theme was, “It’s sweet to be a CSD major.” To support this theme, a candy bar was available for all attendees.

During the evening, scholarship awards to deserving students were announced. Caroline Boczar, Allison Ricks, and Hannah Sons received the Mary K. Keiser Scholarship. The Sertoma Scholarship was awarded to Ryan Mulligan and Matthew Wetmore. The Robinson-Eckelmann Scholarship was presented to Emily Zimmerman. Stephanie Colletti and Melissa Menendez were recognized as outstanding speech language pathologist clinicians and Deedra Alford was awarded outstanding audiologist.

Following scholarship awards, each professor and supervisor in attendance received fun, superlatives awards from the students. The students also awarded “Teacher of the Year” to two professors. Mrs. Teresa Tyra was recognized as teacher of the year for speech language pathology. Assistant Professor Lindsay Bondurant was recognized as teacher of the year for audiology. The night ended with dancing and socializing. Overall, this year’s banquet was a success and we look forward to next year.