Appears In

The 2015 Illinois State Athletics Percy Family Hall of Fame class was officially announced July 6. The following former student-athletes will become members of the Redbird Hall of Fame: Brian Anderson ’04 (men’s golf), a 2004 Missouri Valley Conference medalist and four-time All-Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) selection; Kristi Cirone ’09 (women’s basketball), Illinois State’s all-time leading scorer and three-time MVC Player of the Year; Neal Cotts (baseball), a First-Team All-MVC pitcher and 2005 World Series champion; LaurĂ©nt Robinson ’07 (football), an All-American wide receiver and NFL standout; and Liina Suurvarik ’04 (women’s tennis), a four-time MVC No. 1 singles champion and four-time All-MVC selection.

In addition to the 2015 Hall of Fame class, Rudy Klokkenga, who supported Illinois State Athletics in various volunteer roles for over a decade, will be honored with the Campbell “Stretch” Miller Award. The award is named for Campbell Miller, a former Redbird student-athlete who went on to broadcast Illinois State games in the 1940s before joining the St. Louis Cardinals broadcasting team. The award celebrates the contributions of those whose main services were not playing or coaching, but were important to the program’s success.

The honorees will be officially introduced during the Hall of Fame banquet, scheduled for 8 a.m. October 24 in the Brown Ballroom at the Bone Student Center. The class will also be recognized during halftime of the Illinois State-Western Illinois football game later that day. Kickoff is scheduled for 2 p.m.

Reservations for the Hall of Fame ceremony are $25 per person and can be purchased through Illinois State Athletics. To order tickets for the event or for more information, please call Melanie Piekos at (309) 438-3639.