Nominations are being sought for the Strand Diversity Achievement Award.

image of Maggie Im and President Emeritus David Strand

2015 Strand Diversity Achievement Award winner Maggie Im and President Emeritus David Strand

This award recognizes a current Illinois State University faculty or staff member who is instrumental in extraordinary curricular or program activities that assist the University in responding to its core value to diversity as outlined in Educating Illinois. Nominations will be accepted through Friday, December 14.

Nomination forms are available here. Submit nomination materials electronically to Hurdylyn Woods, chair of the Strand Diversity Achievement Award Committee, at

The award recipient will be announced during the spring semester Founders Day celebration, and will receive individual recognition and a cash award.

Faculty, staff, students, alumni, emeritus faculty, retirees, and friends of the University are encouraged to make nominations.

Those nominating must submit a copy of the nominee’s resume or vitae including any materials supporting the nominee’s commitment to diversity. Also needed is a letter of nomination that describes the scope, outcomes, uniqueness, and impact of the nominee’s contributions to the University community, as well as a letter of support from the nominee’s immediate supervisor, and one letter of support from a colleague of the nominee. Note: All nominees will need to submit an additional statement addressing how he or she has promoted diversity as articulated in Educating Illinois.

President Emeritus David Strand, who has served as an administrator and faculty member at Illinois State University since 1978, established the Strand Diversity Achievement Award. All nominated faculty and staff members must currently hold a full-time position in the University.

For questions about nominations, contact Woods at