Dianne Feasley, R.D., Campus Dining

Dianne Feasley

Dianne Feasley, associate director of nutrition and culinary arts, has been named the recipient of the Neal R. Gamsky Award. She will be honored at the Founders Day Convocation on Febrary 18.

Feasley joined Campus Dining Services in 1990. Throughout her 25-year career, she is consistently described as a true professional that cares deeply about the dietary needs and well-being of every student at Illinois State University.

Feasley is passionately committed to ensuring that students are provided with nutritionally-balanced menu options, which involves working with Campus Dining’s executive chefs on creating new recipes and developing weekly menus for the dining centers. As a registered dietician, she meets regularly with students with special dietary needs, food allergies, and eating disorders. She works tirelessly to ensure that specialized meals meet their needs.

She is an exemplary mentor to students and staff and has been recognized by the Division of Student Affairs previously as Mentor of the Year. In her nomination, a student wrote, “Dianne’s small acts of kindness gave me strength and hope when I needed it the most. After struggling my freshman year with an eating disorder and seeking treatment, I went on to successfully recover and return to Illinois State to pursue a degree.”

Additionally, Feasley has been instrumental in coordinating vast facility projects and renovations over the years to improve the quality of services provided to students by Campus Dining Services. She has also played an important and active role with Illinois State’s Eating Disorder Network, established the gluten free venue at Watterson Dining Commons, and has served as an educator and expert across campus regarding nutrition, body image, and food allergies and diseases.

Neal Gamsky was vice president and dean of Student Affairs at Illinois State from 1973 to 1991. He established an endowment to recognize a Division of Student Affairs staff member who made outstanding contributions to the quality of life for students, and who promoted excellence in individual effort and concern for the quality of the campus environment through service and support.