Now is the time to start nominating outstanding alums for 2017.

Each year the Illinois State University Alumni Association recognizes individuals who personify the University’s tradition as an environment for excellence.

Nominations are due May 31, 2016, for the 2017 Alumni Awards.

Established in 1971 with just one award, the program has grown to five award categories. The awards—Outstanding Young Alumni Award, Alumni Achievement Award, E. Burton Mercier Service Award, Distinguished Alumni Award, and the Senator John Maitland Jr. Commitment to Education Award—are presented annually at the Founders Day Convocation.

Recipients are also honored by the association at a recognition dinner where they have the opportunity to speak and formally accept the award. The dinner is also the time that the association will present the Future Alumni Leader Award to a current Illinois State undergraduate or graduate student.

Each award may have up to three recipients annually except the Distinguished Alumni Award, which is only awarded to one individual who qualifies by having previously won either a Young Alumni, Service, Achievement, or Maitland award, or be a past inductee into an Illinois State college Hall of Fame.

Don’t wait too long! Those interested in nominating are encouraged to start the process early as there are several parts to complete when nominating an alum. Visit for full details and requirements on how to nominate someone for an award.