image of Gregory Ferrence

Gregory Ferrence

Illinois State University Professor of Chemistry Gregory Ferrence has been selected as a fellow of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The prestigious ACS Fellows Program recognizes and honors members of the American Chemical Society for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to the science and the profession as well as exemplary service to the society.

“Dr. Ferrence has contributed enormously to the scientific community with his extensive work in X-Ray crystallography, as well as his service to the ACS, including as a member of the national Ethics Committee,” said Department of Chemistry Chair Craig McLauchlan. “Accolades such as this are an example of his dedication to our discipline, and also speak to the continuing excellence of Illinois State’s chemistry faculty members.”

Ferrence is also a fellow in the Royal Society of Chemistry. He was named Illinois Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education, and the Illinois Heartland Local Section of the American Chemical Society recognized him chemist of the year.

His research on crystal structures has appeared in international scholarly journals, such as the Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemie, Chemical Communications, Inorganic Chemistry, and the Journal of Chemical Education, and he has earned more than $1 million in grants from the National Science Foundation. Ferrence has presented his work and advocacy of chemical education using crystallographic data around the globe.

Joining Illinois State in 1999, Ferrence has been honored with multiple University awards, including the Outstanding University Teacher Award, the Outstanding College Service Award, the Impact Award for assisting and mentoring students, the John A. Dossey Award for Outstanding Teaching by a Tenured Faculty Member, and a Research Initiative Award. He earned a doctorate from Purdue University.

The 2016 ACS Fellows will be honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia in August.