Emily Hellmann, a first-year graduate student in the specialist in school psychology program, has been awarded the Audrey J. Grupe Fellowship in School Psychology.

Originally from Bartelso, IL, Hellmann graduated from DePauw University in May 2016 with a bachelor’s degree in psychology.  At Illinois State University, she is working on a research team evaluating the Response-to-Intervention/Multitiered Systems of Support programs in two local schools.

The Audrey J. Grupe Fellowship in School Psychology was established and funded by gifts from Audrey J. Grupe and Mary Jane McCarthy, to recognize the financial aid they received while pursuing their degrees and to commemorate their professional careers. They wish to help fellowship recipients, from their home states, earn graduate degrees in school psychology so that the recipients might provide services to children and their families in a school setting. Applicants who accept admission to the specialist program in School Psychology and hold an undergraduate degree from an accredited institution in Illinois or Indiana are automatically considered eligible for the Grupe Fellowship.

The Grupe Fellowship in School Psychology awardee will be recognized at the Department of Psychology’s 2016 Alumni Day Awards Ceremony Friday, October 7 at 3:30 p.m. in DeGarmo 551. The department will also hold its annual Alumni Day Dinner later that same evening at Biaggi’s Ristorante Italiano.