Skip to main content

Politics and Government 50th Anniversary Celebration

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Alumni and retired faculty joined current faculty, staff, and students September 30 for a joyous dinner to celebrate the Department of Politics and Government’s 50th anniversary.

The evening was introduced by outgoing Chair Ali Riaz and organizing committee chairs Lori Riverstone-Newell and Gary Klass. Masters of Ceremony Thomas McClure and Sherri Replogle invited all to look back at the department’s founding by Alice Ebel, and they highlighted accomplishments of alumni, chairs, and faculty.

Invited speakers included former Chairs Jamal Nassar and Thomas Eimermann. Distinguished alumni who represent the department’s diverse focus also spoke: State Sen. Jason Barickman and Congressman Adam Kinzinger (who delivered a special message by video), Professor Andrea Silvia, community development specialist Nancy Ouedraogo, U.S. District Court Judge and retired Illinois State Board of Trustees member Michael McCuskey. A video featuring other alumni was also presented.

Videos were also shown that feature current students and faculty, including pieces on the mock trial program, Model U.N., and the annual Peru human rights trip.

Related Article: Politics and Government turns 50 The Department of Politics and Government celebrates 50 years of accomplishments and achievements.