Fourteen Illinois State University students majoring in history or history-social sciences education were inducted into the Mu Upsilon chapter of Phi Alpha Theta, the National History Honor Society, on December 1.

The students were:

  • Kyle Albright
  • Nicole Bromberek
  • Gabriel Buckrop
  • Nicole Gregor
  • Elizabeth Harkert
  • Nate Herman
  • Jordan Hunter
  • Julius Pascual
  • Sarah Pratt
  • Alexander Read
  • Lorenzo Schiavetta
  • Kelly Schrems
  • Jennifer Schutz
  • Megan Somers

This is a professional society whose mission is to promote the study of history through the encouragement of research, good teaching, publication, and the exchange of learning and ideas among historians. It was established in 1921, is a charter member of the Association of College Honor Societies, and currently has chapters in 820 college and university campuses.

Phi Alpha Theta is a professional organization for which students have to qualify, apply, and be accepted. To qualify a student must have at least 12 semester hours in history with a GPA of at least 3.1 in history and 3.0 overall. Graduate students must have 12 graduate hours completed toward their master’s degree with at least a 3.5 GPA. Only Phi Beta Kappa has more stringent membership qualifications.

At the induction ceremony held in the Founders Suite at the Bone Student Center, students were sworn in and received a membership certificate and honors cords to wear at graduation.

Congratulations to our newest members of Phi Alpha Theta!