University Professor David H. Malone will deliver the Spring College of Arts and Sciences Lecture on Tuesday, March 21, at 7 p.m. in the Old Main Room in the Bone Student Center. His talk, “Origin of the Massive Heart Mountain Slide, Wyoming,” is free and open to the public.

Malone is a broadly trained structural geologist with subspecialties in sedimentary geology, ore deposits, Quaternary geology, and volcanic geology. His work is strongly field based, and it emphasizes geologic mapping and related methodologies.

A native of East Moline, Malone came to Illinois State University as a freshman geology major in 1984, graduating in 1988. He began graduate studies at the University of Wisconsin that fall. He started his Ph.D. research under the direction of Campbell Craddock in 1991, where he began his decades-long research on the Heart Mountain Slide in northwest Wyoming, one of the most enigmatic and controversial structures in North America.

While Malone’s principal scholarly accomplishments have been focused on developing a better understanding of the Heart Mountain Slide, he has also developed a research agenda regarding the regional geology of Illinois. In 2013 he was named an Outstanding College Researcher, and in 2015 he was the recipient of the College’s Janice Witherspoon Neuleib Award for scholarly achievement. Of his more than 100 journal articles, geologic maps, and field guides published or in press, 30 of these publications have student co-authors. He was named an Outstanding University Teacher in 2006.

Malone was the principal investigator for 61 grants and contracts funded for nearly $5,150,000, including many from competitive peer-reviewed sources such as the U.S. Geological Survey, the National Science Foundation, the Illinois Board of Higher Education, the Illinois State Geological Survey, and the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency.

The Arts and Sciences Lecture Series was established by action of the Arts and Sciences Council on March 8, 1968. Its purpose is to honor Arts and Sciences faculty members who have made outstanding scholarly contributions to the University and to their disciplines. There are two lectures each year, a Fall Lecture and a Spring Lecture. Recipients receive the title College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Lecturer.