Illinois State University School of Music presents Music Factory, the annual student composition concert, Tuesday, April 11, at 7:30 p.m. in the Kemp Recital Hall. The concert is free and open to the public.

Each year the student composition majors are able to showcase some of the material that they have been working on during the year. The concert will feature all original music, typically performed by fellow students. The concert represents a shared desire to support and incorporate new music into all programs.

This year’s concert will feature the music of 10 student composers.

Stretch, snap, spin—Larkin Babbitt

Dryer at 307 Hovey—Andrew McGowan

I Would Live in Your Love—Cristian Larios

Four Elements—Michael Genson

  1. Spiritual
  2. Fire
  3. Water
  4. Earth
  5. Air

The Wedding—Collin Page

  1. Crack of Dawn
  2. Bustle
  3. Ceremony
  4. Reception

Names are stupid—Casey Laughlin

this—Gregory Watson

1:00 AM—Eric Gilardon

Sweetest Lilli—Rachel Wolz

  1. Sweetest Lilli
  2. When We Were Behind

Color Music—Kyle Waselewski

  1. Yellow
  2. Blue
  3. Red

During intermission, the Harlan W. Peithman Scholarship will be awarded. Established in 1976, the scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior music student who has demonstrated strong academic merit, traditionally a student who is outstanding in music theory.

For additional information on the concert, contact Music Professor Roy Magnuson.

If you will need a special accommodation to participate in this event, please contact the music office at or (309) 438-7631.