Braden Auditorium was full of family and friends of students who were graduating May 12 from Illinois State University Mennonite College of Nursing (MCN).

A total of 200 students graduated from the following programs:

Ph.D. in nursing—1
FNP certificate—1

After the welcome and introductions from Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost Jan Murphy, and President Dietz’s commencement address, the candidates were recognized. Melissa Jarvill, director of nursing simulation, receive her Ph.D. in nursing. The M.S.N. candidates received their nursing pins and diploma covers, and then the B.S.N. candidates received their nursing pins and diploma covers. Student Nurses’ Association President Nicole Norris gave the student reflection at the ceremony, and Emily Amadio led the B.S.N. graduates with the International Nursing Pledge.

Several student and faculty awards were also presented at the ceremony:

Alumni Award for Clinical Excellence—Dominic Antonacci and Meagan Doyle
Graduate Program Teaching Excellence Award—Denise Wilson
Kathleen A. Hogan Teaching Excellence Award—Cathi Kaesberg
Outstanding Graduate Student Achievement Award—Jennifer Toohill
RN to B.S.N. Outstanding Achievement Award—Courtney Pearson
Ruth Ryder Senior Geriatrics Award—Tianna Nicolas
Senior Excellence Award—Meagan Doyle and Nicole Norris
Herman Tiedeman Memorial Award—Kathleen Ensalaco and Bailey Moore

Mennonite College of Nursing faculty and staff would like to congratulate all of the graduates on their accomplishments. The education you have just completed will strengthen your continued career in being a leader in nursing!

If you were not able to attend the ceremony, you can view it online, and there are also four photo albums on the MCN Flickr account.