The Allie Ward Billingsley scholarship is given in honor of Dr. Billingsley, a professor of Spanish in the Department of Foreign Languages at Illinois State for about 25 years. She also served as Spanish section coordinator. Among her many contributions to the department was her effort in organizing and support of the Eta Upsilon chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, the Spanish Honor Society. This year’s recipient is graduate student Jaclyn Frisvold.

The 2017 Jo Ann Kelley Endowed Scholarship recipients.

The Alma Latina Award is given each year to the Spanish club participant(s) who give extra passion and effort to further Hispanic culture. This year’s recipients are Carlos Rubio and Brady Sibley.

The Jo Ann Kelley Endowed Scholarship was established in memory of Jo Ann Kelley, who after serving in the U.S. Army went to Illinois State University on the GI Bill and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Spanish. She felt that her college years were very transformative for her. This year’s Jo Ann Kelley Endowed Scholarship recipients are Matthew Croisant and Marissa Maddox.