Bone Scholarship badge

As part of their digital badging initiative, the Honors Program has created a new Bone Scholarship badge.

Illinois State University awarded 14 undergraduate students with the Bone Scholarship for the 2017-2018 academic year. The announcement was made by the University’s Honors Program. The recipients of the scholarship will be introduced to university administrators, the selection committee, and current and alumni Bone Scholars on Sunday, September 17.

The Bone Scholarship is the highest university-wide honor awarded to undergraduate students of Illinois State University. This scholarship includes a monetary award from the Bone Scholarship fund and the recipients’ pictures are displayed in the Bone Student Center, with their names permanently engraved on a plaque displayed in the center.

The scholarship is named in honor of the late Robert G. Bone, President of Illinois State University from 1956-1967. Bone Scholars are selected through a rigorous campus-wide competition on the basis of their scholarly achievements and their engagement and leadership in activities in the university community and beyond. Invited finalists submit a comprehensive portfolio including several essays and statements, a project, and five letters of recommendation. The mean grade point average of this year’s Bone Scholars is 3.95 on a 4.0 scale.

This years’ selection committee consisted of Christy Borders, Roy Magnuson, Dave Malone, Cara Rabe-Hemp, Jomo Sankara, and Steve Stapleton of the Illinois State faculty; current Bone Scholar Alexis Econie; Foundation Board representative Marc Bulandr; and Alumni Association representative Linda Yap.

The Bone Scholars of 2017-2018 academic year are listed below:

  • Madeline Blackwell, Roscoe, English education
  • Holly Buescher, Normal, English education
  • Mary Fischer, Fort Scott, Kansas, molecular cellular biology
  • Fawna Goldi-Wasson, Danville, accounting BS/MPA
  • Carleigh Gray, Woodbridge,Virginia, mass media
  • Megan Kapala, Tinley Park, finance
  • Taylor Knowles, Rantoul, music education
  • Brian Loiacono, Geneva, organizational leadership; human resource management
  • John Mueting, Normal, construction management
  • Samuel Rosenfeld, Skokie, theatre education
  • Bayza Senbetta, Warrenville, bilingual-bicultural education
  • Kiley Walsh, Mount Prospect, Spanish education
  • Wesley Ward, Normal, finance; political science
  • Rachel Wolz, Channahon, music