The results of the 2017-2018 James L. Fisher Outstanding Thesis Award Competition have been announced by John Baur, associate vice president for Research and Graduate Studies at Illinois State University.

Overall University Winner:
Zachary Earl Lawton of Tinley Park, Illinois – College of Arts and Sciences, Department of Chemistry: Analytical Validation of a Portable Mass Spectrometer System for High Throughput Forensic Screening

University Runner-Up and MAGS Submission
Gregory B. Sullo of Sandwich, Massachusetts College of Fine Arts, School of Art: The Structuring of Musical Perception

College Winners:
Jaimie Kent of Morris, IllinoisCollege of Arts and Sciences, Department of Politics & Government: Rights of Nature and the Political Implications of Post-Humanist Ecologies

Jess Gabl of Algonquin, Illinois College of Arts and Sciences, School of Communication: The Digital Surgeon’s Warning: Do Disclaimers Have a Place in Beauty and Fashion Advertising?

Clayton Cottle of Danville, Illinois – College of Applied Science & Technology, Department of Criminal Justice Sciences: The Impact of Employment on Probationer Recidivism

The awards ceremony will be held on Monday, April 9, 2018.

All college winners will receive $200 awards. The university runner-up receives an additional $100 award, while the overall university winner receives an additional $200 award plus $200 as the Illinois State University submission to the Midwestern Association of Graduate Schools (MAGS) regional competition.