Allison Harris, Department of Physics, and Jeffrey B. Wagman, Department of Psychology, are the recipients of the 2017-2018 College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Researcher Awards. “We are proud of the excellent research being conducted by Dr. Harris and Dr. Wagman,” said Dean Simpson. “I am especially pleased by their impressive records of student mentorship, which serve to enhance the reputation of both their departments and the University.”

Professor Harris came to Illinois State University in the fall of 2013, having completed three previous years in the Physics Department at Henderson State University in Arkansas. Since then she has published twelve journal articles (eight with student coauthors) and has another three under review (all with student coauthors). She also has 27 conference presentations, 22 of which have student coauthors. Although her primary research efforts are in the area of theoretical atomic collisions, where she is internationally known, she is actively engaged in two projects dealing with biophysics and biomathematics. She was a 2016 recipient of an Illinois State University Research Initiative Award.

In 2015, Harris was awarded a three-year, $105,000 grant from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for her work in atomic collisions. To support her NSF-funded research, last year she received a grant for 150,000 computing hours on some of the most advanced super-computers in the world through the Extreme Science and Engineering Discovery Environment. She serves as a member of both the general and executive committees for the Gaseous Electronics Conference, and as a reviewer for multiple journals.

Professor Wagman’s research is in the field known as ecological psychology, and he focuses primarily on the relationship between perception and action, and the means by which individuals detect environmental information that specifies the behavioral possibilities available in a given context. Wagman began his career at Illinois State University in 2003. To date, he has published 60 peer-reviewed journal articles, 13 book reviews and book chapters, and 21 conference proceedings. All of his research endeavors involve students. He has student coauthors on over 30 of his journal articles and nearly 50 conference presentations. He was the recipient of an Illinois State University Research Initiative Award in 2006.

Wagman has also given 20 invited talks at universities. He is organizing the 2018 North American Meeting of the International Society for Ecological Psychology; and in 2011, he received a prestigious Japan Society for the Promotion of Science Invitation Fellowship for Research in Japan. He was elected to the Board of Directors of the International Society for Ecological Psychology, as well as appointed to serve as an associate editor for the flagship journal in his area of expertise, Ecological Psychology.

The Outstanding College Researcher awards, as well as awards for Outstanding College Teaching and Outstanding College Service, will be presented at the spring Dean’s Address and Awards Ceremony on Tuesday, April 10 at 3:30 p.m. in the Old Main Room in the Bone Student Center. All members of the campus and Bloomington-Normal communities are welcome to attend.