Winners for the 30th annual Commitment to Diversity Awards were announced at a ceremony in the Bone Student Center. Sponsored by Diversity Advocacy, the award ceremony recognizes current ISU undergraduate and graduate students, registered student organizations, faculty, and staff who have demonstrated outstanding curricular and co-curricular programming, service, and research that support the University’s commitment to diversity.

“Along with our congratulations to all the incredible winners, we must acknowledge the hard work and dedication of all of the nominees, and the outstanding contributions of all to furthering diversity and inclusion at Illinois State,”  said Mandy Dartt of Diversity Advocacy. “It is important to acknowledge and celebrate the work that these folks are doing, as it is often unseen.”

Outstanding Staff
Tamekia Bailey
Stephanie Campbell
Mandy Dartt
Amy Miller
Whitney Mittons
Mayuko Nakamura –WINNER

Outstanding Faculty
Marinelly Castillo WINNER
Beth Hatt
Pamela Hoff

Outstanding Registered Student Organization
Black Student Union
Spanish Club WINNER

Outstanding Registered Student Organization Member
Salvador Delgado WINNER
Samantha Lewis
Stephanie Rodriguez

Outstanding Greek Organization
Omega Phi Beta National Sorority, Inc. WINNER
Sigma Lambda Gamma National Sorority, Inc.

Outstanding New Program
This is Not a Wife Beater—Omega Phi Beta Sorority, Inc
Let’s Talk About Venezuelan Immigration— Spanish Club WINNER

Outstanding Established Program
Black Heritage Ball — Black Student Union
Día de los Muertos — Spanish Club
Feminine Hygiene Drive — Omega Phi Beta National Sorority, Inc
Fiesta Latina — Spanish Club
Leaders of Social Change — Student Activities and Involvement
TRiO — TRiO/SSS-University College
TRiO and Career Center Collaboration — TRiO/SSS
Umoja: Black Graduation Celebration — Umoja Community Forum WINNER

Legacy of Leadership: Undergraduate
Evelyn Fernandez
Jessica Hayes
Samantha Lewis
Faith Overall
Toni Preston WINNER
Stephanie Rodriguez
Lissette Zarco

Legacy of Leadership – Graduate
Cyndy Alvarez WINNER
LaCrisha McAllister

Partner in Diversity – Student
Andrew Jacobs WINNER
Anna Whiters

Partner in Diversity – Staff
Tamekia Bailey
Christa Platt WINNER

Partner in Diversity – Community  *New Award*
Jennifer Carrillo (YWCA McLean County)