On the final day of the 2018 MVC Outdoor Track and Field Championships, hosted by Indiana State, the Illinois State women came away with their sixth Valley team title, totaling 191.5 points. The Redbird men came up just short of an MVC Championship, finishing as the runner-up with 169 points.

With the win, the women clinch their first Valley Outdoor Track & Field title since 2000. This also marks the first time that the Illinois State women have swept both the MVC indoor and outdoor crowns since 1997. Southern Illinois and Indiana State tied for second place with 160 points.

“I couldn’t be any more proud of the effort that our student-athletes gave today,” said Director of Track & Field and Cross Country Jeff Bovee. “I’m so happy for our women for winning an MVC Championship, and we couldn’t have done this without our staff. They have worked extremely hard to build this team over the past four years, and this experience is truly rewarding, because championships are not easy to win in this conference.”

“To come up short by one point is undoubtedly tough, but I was really proud of our men,” said Bovee. “We were fourth coming into the final day and we went out swinging. At the end of the day, you learn a lot about yourself in terms of character, and we showed a ton of that today. Northern Iowa had a heck of a meet. Hat’s off to Coach Paulsen and his team for a great performance.”

After the women’s championship-winning performance, Bovee was named the 2018 MVC Outdoor Track & Field Women’s Coach of the Year. Over the course of the meet, the Redbird women won five individual-event championships.

Qualifying Illinois State men’s and women’s student-athletes will be back in action on May 24-26, 2018, when they travel to Sacramento, California, to compete in the NCAA West Preliminary Round.

2018 MVC Outdoor Track & Field Champions
Demetria Anderson, 100-meter Hurdles
Ariana Cranston, Pole Vault
D’Jenne Egharevba, 100-meter
Sydney Laufenberg, Discus
Amanda McClain, Long Jump

Jack Anstey, 1,500-meter
Ryan Ashenbremer, Pole Vault
James Brandenburg, Decathlon
Anderson Devonish, 200-meter and 4×400-meter Relay
Brandon Gage, 4×400-meter Relay
Avery Lyons, 4×400-meter Relay
Jaylan McConico, 110-meter Hurdles
Ben Montgomery, 4×400-meter Relay