Diane Dean, COE, is one of three education professionals nationwide to be selected by the Society for College and University Planning (SCUP) as a SCUP Fellow for 2018. Dean will conduct the research project “From Theory to Practice: Case Studies in Academic Program Planning.”

Jennifer Friberg, CSD, will be inducted into the College of Education’s hall of fame during Illinois State’s 2018 Homecoming celebration.

Chuck Scott, Facilities, received the 2018 Meritorious Service Award from the Association of Physical Plant Administrators. Scott is a former president of the APPA Midwest region, and helped found the Illinois chapter. He also was instrumental in the development of the APPAU Graduate Program.

Bill McBride, ENG, published a book chapter “Dutchman Heaped in Modern Cinema” for the MLA’s Approaches to Teaching Baraka’s Dutchman.

Christopher Mulligan, CHE, co-authored “A Low-Cost, Simplified Platform of Interchangeable, Ambient Ionization Sources for Rapid, Forensic Evidence Screening on Portable Mass Spectrometric Instrumentation,” for the “Mass Spectrometry Based Miniature Instruments for Environmental and Field Studies” special issue of Instruments.

Ali Riaz, POL, penned an op-ed piece for The Indian Express on suppression of student protests in Dhaka, Bangladesh.