The Illinois State University College of Arts and Sciences introduced new faculty members and presented awards and scholarships during the Fall Dean’s Address Thursday, September 13, in the Old Main Room.

Interim Dean Diane Zosky paid tribute to her predecessor, Dean Emeritus Greg Simpson and articulated her view of the university’s purpose.

“Those of us in the arts and sciences are particularly resistant to public discourse that higher education should prepare students for the workforce, as if higher education should be job preparation,” said Zosky. “We are doing much more than that. We are preparing the next generation for relevance in a dynamic, complex global society with challenges that require collaboration, critical thinking, and innovation.”

Daniel Liechty from the Department of Social Work and Alison Bailey from Women’s and Gender Studies were announced as this year’s College of Arts and Sciences Distinguished Lecturers.

Faculty award winners

Scott Sakaluk won the Janice Witherspoon Neuleib Award for Outstanding Scholarly Achievement for this year. Sakaluk has received awards in the past, including the Outstanding College Researcher Award in 2000, the Outstanding University Researcher Award in 2002, and induction into Illinois State University’s Million Dollar Club in 2009.

“Scott’s productivity in calendar year 2017 was equivalent to a successful decade for many in his field,” said Associate Dean Joe Blaney.

In 2017, Sakulak published eight refereed articles in prominent journals, with three more awaiting publication. He also obtained two research grants: $650,000 from the National Science Foundation, and $434,000 from the National Institutes of Health, as well as serving as supporting investigator for a $350,000 Major Research Instrumentation grant.

“Grants are a combination of 1/3 inspiration, 1/3 perspiration, and 1/3 luck,” Sakulak said. “I was fortunate that all three came together on submissions to the NSF and the NIH.”

photo of dan lannin

Daniel Lannin

Daniel Lannin of the Department of Psychology won the award for Outstanding Scholarly Achievement by a Pre-Tenured Faculty Member for his ambitious calendar year 2017. Lannin published five refereed journal articles with nine in press and presented four conference papers. He was also co-investigator for two external grant submissions.

Portrait of richard sullivan

Richard Sullivan

The John A. Dossey Award for outstanding teaching was presented to Richard Sullivan of the Department of Sociology and Anthropology. Sullivan teaches undergraduate sociology and general education courses, as well as political sociology and theory courses on the graduate level. He has won a University Teaching Initiative Award and the Shaw Teaching Fellowship in years past.

photo of John Plevka

John Plevka

From the School of Communication, Vidette General Manager John Plevka won the award for Outstanding Administrative Professional. Plevka’s background includes serving as managing editor of four Illinois newspapers. He teaches COM 165, an introductory newswriting course.

“The Vidette, like commercial news operations across the county, is facing tremendous transitional challenges as we migrate from print to digital,” Plevka said. I am proud to be associated with a student-driven organization that, after more than 130 years of existence, remains committed to honest, fair and accurate story-telling on all of its platforms.”

photo of leandra parris

Leandra Parris

Leandra Parris of the Department of Psychology won the award for Outstanding Teaching by a Pre-Tenured Faculty Member. At ISU, Parris has created a new graduate course on school climate/organization and crisis intervention, taught graduate level practicum classes in the school psychology program, and taught graduate level classes in social and emotional behavioral assessment as well as intervention and substance abuse counseling.

photo of liz chupp

Elizabeth Chupp

The award for Outstanding Teaching by an Administrative Professional was presented to School of Communication Director of Advisement Elizabeth Chupp. On top of her primary duties, Chupp teaches the general education course COM 110 as well as introductory and capstone courses for Communication Studies majors.

“She strives to make her students more competent, critical, and ethical communicators while emphasizing the importance of civic responsibility,” said Associate Dean Sally Parry.

Photo of Tony Ludwig

Tony Ludwig

The Scott M. Elliott Award for Outstanding Civil Service Staff was presented to Department of Chemistry instrument technician Tony Ludwig. He has been providing services to students and faculty since 2015 and volunteers for various events, including the Metcalf Field Day Trip in which his station allows kids to taste ice cream made with nitrogen.

“Tony is an outstanding professional, mentor, and colleague whose attitude and willingness to help others exemplifies his commitment to the University,” said Associate Dean Marla Reese-Weber.

Scholarship winners

• Laurine Reiske Scholarship: Katy Haag, Biology
• Helen and Shirley Highland Scholarship: Aaliyah Gladney, Communication Sciences and Disorders
• Craig W. Reeser Scholarship: Brooke Jablonski, Communications Sciences and Disorders
• John and Susan Feed Scholarship: Jacob Southerd, Department of Geography, Geology, and the Environment
• Neil and Joan Styczinski Scholarship: Kaitlin Winkle, Mathematics
• Redbird 5 Scholarship: Macy Pohlman, Communications Sciences and Disorders
• Leola Lohr Nelson Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Katherine Helander, Public Relations
• Carl D. Heldt Memorial Endowed Scholarship: Evan Talbott-Swain, Biology
• Robert J Glaser Memorial Scholarship: Bethany Dain, Economics
• Greg and Mary Margaret Simpson Endowed Scholarship: Shelby Johnson, Actuarial Science
• Crawford Book Scholarship: Makayla Boykin, Bio-Chemistry