This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The annual Department of Technology Scholarship and Honors Reception was held September 8. Special guests included College of Applied Science and Technology Dean Todd McLoda; retired Technology Department Chair Joe Talkington; Engineering Technology Professor Emeritus Ken Stier and his wife, Julie Stier; Professor Emeritus Hank Campbell; retired Director of Printing Service and Technology alumnus Bill LaBounty, M.A.’74; the widow of Robert Monninger, Eleanor Monninger; and Executive Director of Development Joy Hutchcraft.

Anna Gallagher ’17, an engineering technology graduate, was the guest speaker. Gallagher gave an inspirational talk about Illinois State University, having a positive, forward-looking life attitude and making the most of the opportunities that come your way.

While at Illinois State University, Gallagher was a member of the Solar Car Team. She was involved in the car design and media relations, and a motivator specialist. Gallagher also was a photographer for the student newspaper, The Vidette. After graduation, Gallagher became an automation systems engineer at Genesis Systems Group in Davenport, Iowa.

Ten Technology Honors students were recognized. Honors students are full-time students who have completed a minimum of 60 credit hours and have a cumulative GPA of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale.

A total of $30,500 in outside scholarships was awarded to seven Technology students and $27,000 in departmental scholarships was awarded to 20 students. The combined total of both departmental and outside scholarships awarded this year was $57,500.

Congratulations to all our Technology Scholarship Recipients and Honors students!