The TV-10 news team traveled to Chicago for the NATAS (National Academy of Television Arts and Science) Chicago/Midwest Emmy Awards on November 10. Crew member Hannah Zettl was awarded a NATAS scholarship and many TV-10 alumni won awards.

TV-10 news anchor and nominee Zettl was the recipient of the NATAS/Silver Dollar City Scholarship. It is worth $5,000, and she is the first Illinois State student to receive it.

“Receiving this award has not only calmed my financial worries, but it has also solidified that I am exactly where I’m supposed to be,” Zettl said. “I am so grateful to the talented team at TV-10 News for teaching me all that I know, and to my parents who have supported me in everything I do.”

WISN-TV Milwaukee producers and TV-10 alumni Paula Vansack and Eric Marshall won the award for Outstanding Achievement in Newsgathering (for spot news).

The rest of the alumni winners were photographers. Big winners included WGN-TV Chicago’s Kevin Doellman with five awards across categories, WMAQ/WSNS-TV Chicago’s Nathan Halder with three, and Oak Brook Productions’ Jordan Arseneau with two.

WBBM-TV Chicago photographer and editor Michael Klingele won the Outstanding Achievement for Special Event Coverage for a story on the Chicago Auto Show.

WNDU-TV’s photographer and editor Don Schoenfeld won the award for Outstanding Achievement for Public Affairs/Current Affairs Programming for the series “In Harm’s Way.”

TV-10’s Rosie Ainley, Andy Olson, and the “News at Noon” team were also nominated for awards.

“I felt really grateful for the privilege and honor to go,” Ainley told “Ten on 10.” “To hear about these people who’ve made such an impact on their communities through journalism was really empowering.”

The Chicago/Midwest Emmy Awards is one of the largest local chapters of the Emmy awards for excellence in the television industry.