Appears In

Each year Illinois State University’s Alumni Association recognizes alumni for their outstanding contributions to their fields, their impact on society, and their passion for Illinois State through the Alumni Awards program. This year five alumni will receive awards at the Founders Day Convocation and will be honored at the annual awards dinner. They include:

Distinguished Alumni Award
David DeMarini ’72, M.S. ’74, Ph.D. ’80
Genetic Toxicologist, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Major/College: Biological Sciences, College of Arts and Sciences

Alumni Achievement Award
Karen (King) Jensen, MBA ’86
President and CEO, Farnsworth Group, Inc.
Major/College: Business Administration, College of Business

Senator John W. Maitland Jr., Commitment to Education Award
Charles Sorensen, M.S. ’67
Chancellor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin-Stout
Major/College: History, College of Arts and Sciences
Awarded posthumously

E. Burton Mercier Alumni Service Award
Charlotte Talkington ’61
Professor Emeritus, Illinois State University Family and Consumer Sciences
Major/College: Family and Consumer Sciences, College of Applied Science and Technology

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Samuel Alex ’07
Syndicated Radio Host, Taste of Country Nights
Major/College: Interdisciplinary Studies/Office of the Provost

Nominations are also being sought for the 2020 Alumni Awards. Deadline to submit is May 31, 2019.

Related Article

Video: Learn how to nominate for Alumni Awards

A quick summary how to recognize outstanding alumni.

See Related Content