Illinois State University President Larry Dietz announced that a search will begin for the next vice president for Academic Affairs and provost. Current Provost Jan Murphy will retire at the end of the 2020 fiscal year.

headshot of Jan Murphy

Jan Murphy

“Vice President Murphy has served the University with distinction for more than 30 years, and her leadership has enhanced Illinois State in countless ways,” Dietz said. “We are thankful for her years of service, her passion for education, and her dedication to excellence. I know we all wish her well.”

Dietz appointed Murphy to the role of interim vice president for Academic Affairs and provost in 2017 and she took on the permanent position in 2018. During her tenure as provost, the campus saw the addition of new degrees such as cybersecurity, the University’s participation in the nationwide Powered by Publics program, forward movement on the Campus Climate Implementation Team, and a strengthening of international ties through the INTO program.

“It has been an honor to serve the University,” said Murphy. “I am appreciative of the wonderful colleagues who have made my time with Illinois State fruitful and fulfilling. Though I will miss seeing the students, faculty, and staff each day, I will forever think of myself as a Redbird and plan to remain engaged with University activities.”

Murphy’s career spans more than three decades at the department, college, and university levels. She joined Illinois State in 1986 as an assistant professor of family and consumer sciences, becoming a full professor in 1995. She served as the University’s associate provost for more than 10 years and previously served as interim provost in 2008. Her roles in the College of Applied Science and Technology include former assistant dean, associate dean, and chair of the Department of Family and Consumer Sciences. She has also served as director of Campus Dining Services.

Murphy earned her bachelor’s degree in nutrition and dietetics, a master’s degree in human nutrition, and a Ph.D. in nutrition research from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. She has numerous publications and funded research grants in several areas of nutrition research. She has served as a peer reviewer for the Higher Learning Commission.

Murphy has also earned numerous awards for outstanding teaching, research, and service including, most recently, the Phyllis Memken Outstanding Teacher Award and the University Distinguished Service Award.