Skip to main content

2019 Technology Scholarship and Honors Reception

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On September 7, the Department of Technology hosted its annual Scholarship and Honors Reception.

Levi Bauer ’16, a graduate of the construction management program, was the guest speaker. Bauer has been a full-time construction cost estimator with River City Construction of East Peoria for three years. Notable successful projects Bauer has bid or been involved with bidding on include the McLean County Veterans Affairs renovation in Bloomington, the McLean County Law and Justice Center in Bloomington, the Ameren Gas Operations near Peoria, and various projects with UnityPoint Methodist Health and OSF HealthCare.

The department’s current Honors students are Taiwo Babatunde, Wilfredo Colon, Hunter Harris, Gunnar Klitzing, Jason Love, Carsen Luchene, Ryan Kraft, Joshua Norsen, and Jacob Van Wolvelear. Technology majors who participate in Honors must be in academic good standing, a full-time student, and have completed a minimum of 60 hours with a cumulative GPA of 3.3 on a 4.0 scale.

The combined total of both departmental and outside scholarships exceeded $36,000. The following students independently applied for and received outside scholarships: Mindy Chan and Allison Maxedon received the Illinois Graphic Communications Scholarship; Kalani Ferguson received the Print and Graphics Scholarship; Kevin Carder and Ben Strobel received the Mechanical Contractors of America-Chicago Chapter Scholarship; and Brady Messman received the Rotary Foundation District Scholarship.

Twenty-one students received departmental scholarships: Jessica Phillips, Claude Bell Endowed Scholarship in Technology; Jacob Van Wolvelear, Philip E. Ghantous Memorial Scholarship; Katherine Chaltin, Joe Talkington Scholarship; Joshua Norsen, Everett N. Israel/TFA Scholarship; Riley Fortune, Adam Mueller, and Caleb Scott, William W. McKnight Jr. Technology Education Scholarships; Victor Fuentes, Franzie L. Loepp Scholarship for Technology and Engineering Education; Gunnar Klitzing, Gary Weede Scholarship for Engineering Education; Camryn Fitzmaurice, Hydro-Gear Scholarship; Alexander Rothschild, Willard J. McCarthy Engineering Technology Scholarship; Janise Everest, Ken Stier Engineering Technology Scholarship; Vincent Cecchin, Department of Technology Legacy Scholarship; Jason Love, Central Illinois Builders’ Industry Advancement Foundation Scholarship; Benjamin Strobel, James D. Loughlin Memorial Scholarship; Caleb Jacob, Charles “Ed” Francis Scholarship; Kate Mesenbring, Wayne Zook Scholarship and the Robert C. Monninger Scholarship; Michael Boffa, Combined Central Illinois Construction Industry Fund Scholarship; Ryan Crockett and Nicholas Divito, Construction Management Endowed Scholarships; and Braden Niksich, Charles Porter Scholarship for Leadership.

Good job and congratulations to these outstanding technology students!