Skip to main content

November and December in the Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts

Center for the Performing Arts

The Center for the Performing Arts at Illinois State

Illinois State University’s Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts will present the following events during November and December 2019. Please note that dates and times of events are subject to change, and this list may not include all events offered.

All events at the Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts can be found on the University’s events calendar.

Wonsook Kim School of Art

NEW Exhibition
On view through Friday, November 1
Transpace Student Gallery
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 115
Reception: TBD

Exhibition: Eric Anthony Berdis: Don’t let them clip your tiny little wings
On view through Sunday, December 15
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Exhibition: Alison Ruttan: Unmaking of Places and Histories
On view through Sunday, December 15
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Graphic Design Senior Exhibition
On view Tuesday, November 5, through Friday, November 8
Transpace Student Gallery
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 115
Reception: Tuesday, November 5, from 5–7 p.m.

BFA Exhibition: Works by Tyler Kiefer
On view Tuesday, November 12, through Friday, November 15
Transpace Student Gallery
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 115
Reception: Tuesday, November 12, from 5–7 p.m.

BFA Exhibition: Works by Annie Otto and Emily Mitton
On view Tuesday, December 3, through Friday, December 6
Transpace Student Gallery
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 115
Reception: Tuesday, December 3, from 5-7 p.m.

Printmakers’ Exhibition and Sale
Friday, December 6, from 8 a.m.–6:30 p.m.
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 123

School of Music

To confirm scheduling and to purchase tickets, call the Center for the Performing Arts (CPA) Box Office at (309) 438-2535.

Michael Tippett’s A Child of Our Time
Featuring the Illinois State University Concert Choir and Symphony Orchestra
3 p.m. Sunday, November 3
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Charles W. Bolen Faculty Recital: Faculty Brass
8 p.m. Monday, November 4
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Charles W. Bolen Faculty Recital: Linden Duo
7:30 p.m. Tuesday, November 5
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Guitar Ensemble and Studio Recital
7:30 p.m. Wednesday, November 6
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Jazz Ensemble I & II
With guest artist: Doug Stone, saxophone
8 p.m. Friday, November 8
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Music for All Concert
10 a.m. Saturday, November 9
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Civic Chorale Concert
2:30 p.m. Saturday, November 9
First United Methodist Church
211 N. School Street, Normal

Guest Artist Recital: Lauren Hodges, viola
7 p.m., Saturday, November 9
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Men’s Glee, Treble Choir, and Belle Voix Concert
3 p.m. Sunday, November 10
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Percussion Ensemble Concert
7 p.m. Sunday, November 10
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Music Factory
7:30 p.m. Monday, November 11
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Chamber Winds Concert
7:30 p.m. Wednesday, November 13
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Guest Artist Recital: Hue Jang, Piano
8 p.m. Thursday, November 14
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Jazz Combos
8 p.m. Thursday, November 14
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

African Drumming and Dance
7:30 p.m. Friday, November 15
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Big Band Dance
featuring music by Jazz Ensemble I and II
6 p.m. Sunday, November 17
New Lafayette Club
1602 S. Main Street, Bloomington

Opera Practicum Performance
Three American Operas:
Virgil Thomson’s Capital Capitals
Samuel Barber’s A Hand of Bridge
Ned Rorem’s Three Sisters Who Are Not Sisters
7 p.m. Tuesday, November 19
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Symphonic Winds Concert
8 p.m. Tuesday, November 19
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Collaborative Piano Recital
7:30 p.m. Wednesday, November 20
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Symphonic Band and University Band Concert
8 p.m. Wednesday, November 20
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Wind Symphony Concert
8 p.m. Thursday, November 21
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Music for the Holidays
7 p.m. Saturday, December 7
3 p.m. Saturday, December 7, and Sunday, December 8
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

 

School of Theatre and Dance

Please call the Center for the Performing Arts (CPA) Box Office at (309) 438-2535 to purchase tickets.

Twelfth Night
By William Shakespeare
Directed by Nic McMinn
7:30 p.m. Friday, October 25; Saturday, October 26; and Tuesday, October 29, through Saturday, November 2
2 p.m. Sunday, October 27
Center for the Performing Arts Theatre

Sweat
By Lynn Nottage
Directed by Lori Adams
7:30 p.m. Friday, November 8, and Tuesday, November 12, through Saturday, November 16
2 p.m. Saturday, November 9, and Sunday, November 10
Westhoff Theatre, Centennial East

Where You From? What You Be About?
7 p.m. Wednesday, November 20
Westhoff Theatre, Centennial East

Fall Dance Concert
7:30 p.m. Wednesday, November 20, through Friday, November 22
2 p.m. Saturday, November 23
Center for the Performing Arts Theatre

Friends of the Arts

Trivia Night “On TV:
5:30 p.m. Saturday, November 2
Rosa Parks Conference Room, Watterson Towers

Messiah Sing-Along
3 p.m. Sunday, December 15
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Appears In
Read All

Comments

Leave a Reply