On Friday, December 6, the College of Applied Science and Technology (CAST) held its Three Minute Thesis competition (3MT). This involved six contestants from three different departments. They are Jacob Styan and Frederick Adomako, Department of Agriculture; Katherine Salanga, Hannah Harris, and Liam O’Neil, School of Kinesiology and Recreation; and Zakary Kaesberg, Department of Family and Consumer Science.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is a research communication competition that challenges master’s and Ph.D. students to describe their research topic and its significance in just 3 minutes to a general audience. Two finalists emerged from the CAST 3MT and will be competing at the University level. The finalists are:

  • Hannah Harris: Hemodynamic Effects of Graston Technique on Trigger Points in the Upper Trapezius in Patients with Neck Pain (Thesis chairperson: Noelle Selkow)
  • Frederick Adomako: Big Data on the Farm (Thesis chairperson: Aslihan Spaulding)

The Illinois State University 3MT finals will be held Thursday, February 20, 2020, at the Normal Theater. Finalists will compete for cash prizes and the first-place winner will be entered in the Midwest Association of Graduate Schools competition in April.

Congratulations to the CAST finalists!