Skip to main content

January and February in the Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts

Cook Hall in winter

Cook Hall

Illinois State University’s Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts will present the following events during January and February 2020. Please note that dates and times of events are subject to change, and this list may not include all events offered. All events at the Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts can be found on the University’s events calendar.

Wonsook Kim School of Art and University Galleries 

Exhibition: An Infinite and Omnivorous Sky
On view: Friday, January 10 through Wednesday, February 19
University Galleries, Uptown Station
Reception: Saturday, February 1 from 5–7 p.m.

Exhibition: Verdancies 
On view beginning Tuesday, January 14
Wonsook Kim School of Art Student Art Gallery
Central Illinois Regional Airport
Reception: Tuesday, January 14 from 5–7 p.m.

Rapports
Works by Peytin Fitzgerald and Aca Carle
On View Tuesday, January 21 through Friday, January 24, 2020
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 3
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 115
Reception: Tuesday, January 21, 5–7 p.m.

Research Colloquium: Kristin Carlson
Wednesday, January 22, noon
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Identity Through the Lens of Quietness
Works by Zachary Sprenger and Aaron Caldwell
On View Tuesday, January 28 through Friday, January 31
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 2
Reception: Tuesday, January 28, 5–7 p.m.

Fractured Actuality
Works by Hannah Fredericks and Nathan Masciola
On View Tuesday, January 28 through Friday, January 31
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 3
Reception: Tuesday, January 28, 5–7 p.m.

Visiting Artist Lecture: Julia Betts
Wednesday, January 29, noon
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Artist Lecture: Kambui Olujimi
Saturday, February 1, 4 p.m.
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Normal Editions Visiting Artist Collaboration: Bethany Collins
In residence Monday, February 3 through Friday, February 7
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 129A

Exhibition: Central Illinois High School Art Exhibition
On view: Tuesday, February 4 through Saturday, February 15
Center for the Visual Arts, Room 110
Closing Reception: Saturday, February 15, from 1–4 p.m.

ISU Photography Club Member Exhibition  
On View Tuesday, February 4 through Friday, February 7
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 3
Reception: Tuesday, February 4, 5–7 p.m.

Research Colloquium: Andreas Fischer
Wednesday, February 5, noon
University Galleries, Uptown Station

Enigma
Works by Jessi Simpson, Athena Silot, Ariana Garcia, and Spencer Molnar
On view Tuesday, February 11 through Friday, February 14
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 3
Reception: Tuesday, February 11, 5–7 p.m.

The Back Room
Works by Jess Dowell and Tess Murphy
On view Tuesday, February 11 through Friday, February 21
Transpace Student Gallery, Gallery 2
Reception: TBD

Exhibition: 2020 Faculty Biennial
On view: Friday, February 28 through Sunday, March 22
University Galleries, Uptown Station
Reception: Friday, February 28, from 5–7 p.m.
Faculty Biennial Performance: Shoshin Trio, Friday, February 28 at 6:45 p.m.

School of Music

To confirm scheduling and to purchase tickets, call the Center for the Performing Arts (CPA) Box Office at (309) 438-2535.

Charles W. Bolen Faculty Recital:
Rachel Hockenberry; horn, Justin Vickers; voice, and Geoffrey Duce; piano
8 p.m., Friday, January 17
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Jury Recognition Recital
7:30 p.m., Monday, January 27
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Charles W. Bolen Faculty Recital: Elizabeth Thompson, voice
7 p.m., Tuesday, February 4
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Orchestra Concerto Aria Finals
7 p.m., Wednesday, February 5
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

RedNote New Music Festival
Monday, February 10 through Thursday, February 13
Concerts at 8 p.m.
February 10, 11 and 12 in the Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East
February 13 in the Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Choral Showcase
3 p.m., Sunday, February 16
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Symphonic Winds Concert
7 p.m., Sunday, February 16
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Jazz Ensemble I & II
8 p.m., Wednesday, February 19
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Guest Artist Masterclass: Kelly Hijleh, vocal pedagogue
7 p.m., Thursday, February 20
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Guest Artist Masterclass and Recital: Chris Dickey, tuba
7:30 p.m., Tuesday, February 25
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

Symphonic Band Concert
8 p.m., Thursday, February 27
Center for the Performing Arts Concert Hall

Madrigals with Little Ol Korea Choir from Chicago
7 p.m., Saturday, February 29
Kemp Recital Hall, Centennial East

School of Theatre and Dance

Please call the Center for the Performing Arts (CPA) Box Office at (309) 438-2535 to purchase tickets.

Hit The Wall
By Ike Holter
Directed by David Prete
7:30 p.m., Friday, February 14; Tuesday, February 18 through Saturday, February 22
2 p.m., Saturday, February 15, Sunday, February 16, and Saturday, February 22
Illinois State University Alumni and Friends Reception: Saturday, February 22
Westhoff Theatre, Centennial East

Guys and Dolls
Book by Jo Swerling and Abe Burrows
Music & Lyrics by Frank Loesser
Directed by Jimmy Chrismon
7:30 p.m., Friday, February 28; Tuesday, March 3 through Friday, March 6
2 p.m., Saturday, February 29 and Sunday, March 1
Center for the Performing Arts Theatre