Winners of scholarships from the Civil Service Council were announced at the Faculty/Staff Appreciation Luncheon during the Founding Celebration.

Civil Service Scholarships
This scholarship was created in 1965 with the purpose of awarding financial assistance to dependents of Illinois State University Civil Service employees. Student achievements and needs are both taken into consideration. The scholarships are made possible through funds presented by the Illinois State University Foundation and the Civil Service Council’s fundraising activities.

This year’s Civil Service Scholarship winners are:
Anabelle Chinski, daughter of Steven Chinski
Taeed Dismukes, son of LaTaetka Wooten
Guy Gudeman, son of Patricia Gudeman
Tyger Gudeman, daughter of Patricia Gudeman
Kaylie Mason, daughter of Lisa Mason
Jenna Schuline, daughter of Robyn and Michelle Schuline

Carl Johanson Scholarship
The Carl Johanson Scholarship was endowed by Al and Elaine Goldfarb and is named for Elaine’s father. The recipient must be an Illinois State University Civil Service employee and a student at ISU who is seriously working on a degree. This year’s recipient of the Carl Johanson Scholarship is Benjamin Wells of the office of the University Registrar.

Applications for Civil Service Council scholarships and the Carl Johanson Scholarship for 2020-2021 are currently available. The deadline to submit scholarship applications is June 15. Applications can be found on the CS Council website at