Department of Politics and Government Professors Dr. Ali Riaz and Dr. Noha Shawki were recognized with this year’s Impact Awards.

Sponsored by University College, the Impact Award is designed to show appreciation for individual members of the campus community who have made an impact on new students and on student retention. Recipients include advisors, students, and faculty who were nominated by freshmen. Since 2013, new freshmen and new transfer students have nominated Illinois State faculty, staff, and students for an Impact Award.

Riaz is a Distinguished Professor of the Department of Politics and Government. He teaches several undergraduate courses on comparative politics. His area of expertise includes South Asian Politics. He is also a nonresident fellow of the Washington D.C. based Atlantic Council. Professor Shawki’s area of expertise is International Relations and she teaches several undergraduate courses on international organizations. Shawki also leads the ISU Model United Nations team and several civic engagement initiatives of the Department. Recipients of 2020 award will be recognized at an event in Fall.

Read more about the award and see a full list of 2020 recipients on the Impact Award website.