Illinois State University Wonsook Kim School of Art announces three faculty members as the first recipients of endowed professorships named in honor of Professors Emeriti Harold Boyd, Harold Gregor, and Ken Holder. The endowed professorships are part of the $12 million historic gift of alumna Wonsook Kim and her husband Thomas Clement that was announced in September 2019. To acknowledge the art training, mentorship, and support she received as a student at Illinois State University, Wonsook Kim designated part of her gift to be used to establish the endowed professorships in honor of Boyd, Gregor, and Holder. These professorships, competitive in nature, are intended to acknowledge excellence among the faculty of the Wonsook Kim School of Art and to encourage achievement in teaching, scholarship, and creative activities

Harold Boyd Professor of Art

Tyler Lotz, professor of art in ceramics, was named as the Harold Boyd Professor of Art.

Harold Gregor Professor of Art

Ladan Bahmani, assistant professor of art in graphic design, was named as the Harold Gregor Professor of Art.

Ken Holder Professor of Art

Dr. Lea Cline, associate professor of art history, was named as the Ken Holder Professor of Art.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bahmani, Cline, and Lotz will hold the esteemed titles for two academic years and will receive funds to support their academic and creative endeavors.

Full-time, tenured and tenure-track faculty, with their locus of tenure in the Wonsook Kim School of Art are eligible to apply for one of the three endowed professorships. The awarding of professorships is based on the strength of an application and proposal, with priority given to individuals who have developed a track record of excellence in teaching, research, and service in accordance with the core values of the University.

In September 2019, the Illinois State University Board of Trustees and President Larry H. Dietz named the College of Fine Arts and the School of Art in recognition of the generosity of alumna Wonsook Kim.