Illinois State University has selected 14 students as Robert G. Bone Scholars for the 2021-2022 school year. 

The Bone Scholarship, the highest university-wide honor given to undergraduate students, includes a monetary award from the Bone Scholarship endowment. Recipients of the award will be featured in a display at the Bone Student Center. The 14 new Scholars will be introduced to university administrators, the selection committee, and to current and alumni Bone Scholars during a September 26th luncheon. 

The scholarship is named in honor of the late Robert G. Bone, president of Illinois State University from 1956-1967. Bone Scholars are selected through a rigorous campus-wide competition based on their scholarly achievements and their engagement and leadership in activities in the university community and beyond. Invited finalists submit a comprehensive portfolio including several essays and statements, a project, and letters of recommendation. The mean grade point average of this year’s Bone Scholars is 3.97 on a 4.0 scale. 

The new Bone Scholars are: 

Hannah Alperstein, Buffalo Grove, physics education 

Kaitlyn Blake, New Lenox, English education, Spanish  

Hannah Johnson, Bloomington, nursing  

Savanah Kinney, Normal, engineering technology  

Aidan Krieger, Springfield, geology  

Xavier Lee, Lake In The Hills, history – social sciences education 

Luke Madden, Carol Stream, chemistry education 

Tenaya Muhammad, McDonough, Georgia, sociology  

Kayla Sallenger, Chatham, marketing  

Sara Schelinski, New Lenox, environmental systems science and sustainability 

Dylan Toth, Schaumburg, family and consumer science education, political science 

Anna Tulley, Normal, anthropology, history  

Beth Warden, Beardstown, mathematics education  

Logan Ziegler, Burlington, Iowa, molecular and cellular biology