Dr. Diana Doyle ’77, M.S. ’79 is this year’s recipient of the Outstanding Service to the Student Affairs Profession Award. This award is given by the Division of Student Affairs to an Illinois State University graduate in the field of student affairs or higher education who exhibits high-impact practices such as mentoring students and professional colleagues; demonstrating an appreciation for lifelong learning and professional development; applying knowledge, experience, and resources to create educational environments beneficial to students’ development; collaborating with colleagues; and contributing to the student affairs profession through regional, state, or national professional associations.

Doyle received her undergraduate and master’s degrees at Illinois State in special education and later received her doctorate in philosophy from the University of Colorado-Boulder. She served as president at Arapahoe Community College (ACC) from April 2010 until June 2021, where her passion for students and their ultimate success was the cornerstone of her work. Under her leadership, ACC established support services for veterans and students with disabilities, expanded workforce training and apprenticeship opportunities, grew solid online learning programs, and established a wealth of successful partnerships to ensure that ACC students received the best opportunities possible.

Prior to her appointment at ACC, Doyle was the executive vice president of learning and student affairs at the Community College of Denver. She has also served in other leadership roles at Western Nebraska Community College, Colorado School of Mines, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and Illinois State University. In 2008, Doyle was elected to serve as the president of NASPA.

Doyle has been recognized throughout her career by receiving such honors as the recipient of the NASPA IV-West Presidential Excellence Award in 2018, the Phi Theta Kappa Shirley B. Gordon Presidential Award of Distinction in 2016, and the State Student Advisory Council (SSAC) President of the Year in 2014. She also received the NASPA Foundation Pillar of the Profession award for outstanding contributions to college student success in 2010.

On June 30, 2021, Doyle retired after 43 illustrious years in higher education. The Division of Student Affairs at Illinois State is grateful for her contributions to the field and proud to honor Doyle with the Outstanding Service to the Student Affairs Profession Award. Doyle will receive the award at the Illinois State Alumni and Friends Reception during the NASPA Annual Conference in Baltimore later this month.