James Wolfinger

Dear Colleagues, As spring semester of 2020 comes to an end, I hope this message finds you well. This has certainly been a unique year. As you read about your colleagues’ achievements, I hope you will reach out to offer congratulations, talk about collaboration, and give encouragement.

DeGarmo Hall

Dr. Mary Kay Scharf and Dr. Lynette Mehall are the internship supervisors for the EAF Principal Prep program.

Mindy Ely

Department of Special Education assistant professor Mindy Ely is working on two exciting projects: a new master’s program in low vision and blindness and a cerebral visual impairment clinic with Easter Seals.

Courtney Hattan

Dr. Courtney Hattan, assistant professor of elementary literacy education in the School of Teaching and Learning, earned the International Literacy Association (ILA) Timothy and Cynthia Shanahan Outstanding Dissertation Award.

Sue Hildebrandt

Dr. Sue Hildebrandt, acting chairperson of the Department of Special Education, received the Freeman Award from the Northeast Conference on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (NECTFL).

May Jadallah

Dr. May Jadallah, associate professor in the School of Teaching and Learning, earned the College of Education Outstanding Researcher Award.

While the entire world has experienced significant interruptions, learning still continues, albeit in a different format.

Cecilia J. Lauby Center

Amid the current COVID-19 crisis, the Cecilia J. Lauby Teacher Education Center has been helping teacher education candidates and faculty across the entire university with teacher education questions and licensure requirements.

Alice Lee

Dr. Alice Lee, assistant professor of literacy and elementary education in the School of Teaching and Learning, earned the University Research Initiative Award.

Steve Mertens

The College of Education is proud to recognize several research award winners that have been named this year. This is one in a series of posts. Dr. Steve Mertens, professor of middle level education in the School of Teaching and Learning, earned the Vincent A. Anfara, Jr. Outstanding Research Award. This award is given by

Jodi Nibbelin

Special Education Assistive Technology (SEAT) Center Coordinator Jodi Nibbelin is dedicated to continuous learning in order to assist pre-service teachers and professors.

COE retirees

Thank you to each of our colleagues who are retiring this year for your exceptional contributions to the College of Education.