The Redbird Scholar is a biannual publication focused on research and creative expression at Illinois State University. The magazine promotes the scholarly activities of Illinois State’s faculty experts, students, and staff, and highlights the private and public grants that support their work.

The Redbird Scholar publishes print editions in September and March, and the content is published online at Print copies are available at several locations on campus: near the entrances to Hovey Hall, Milner Library, Schroeder Hall, and Stevenson Hall; at the front desk in the Alumni Center; and on the first floor of the Bone Student Center. Off campus, the magazine can be found at Bloomington and Normal public libraries.

Your feedback is welcome. Send letters to the editor, comments, suggestions, story ideas, and Redbird media submissions to Redbird Scholar Editor-in-Chief Kevin Bersett at or by mail to Campus Box 3420, Normal, Il, 61790-3420. Bersett can also be reached by phone at (309) 438-4329 and through Twitter at @ISUResearch.

Material may be reprinted with prior approval, provided no commercial endorsement is implied and credit is given to the author, to Illinois State University, and to the Redbird Scholar.

The Redbird Scholar is a collaborative effort of the Provost’s Office, University Marketing and Communications, Federal Government Relations, the Graduate School, Media Relations, Research and Sponsored Programs, and State Governmental Relations.

Magazine board

Dr. Craig C. McLauchlan
Associate vice president for Research and Graduate Studies

Brian Beam, M.S. ’94, MBA ’10
Executive director of University Marketing and Communications

Dr. Gina Hunter
Director of the Office of Student Research

Eric Jome
Director of Media Relations

Dr. Jonathan Lackland
Director of Governmental Relations

Dr. Noelle Selkow
Director of the Graduate School

Jason Wagoner
Senior director of Research and Sponsored Programs

Magazine staff

Kevin Bersett, MBA ’17

Lead designer
Michael Mahle

Michelle Hassel
Lyndsie Schlink ’04, M.S. ’21

Production coordinator
Tracy Widergren ’08, M.S. ’15

Kate Arthur
Nick Erickson
Rachel Hatch
John Moody
John Twork
Dr. Justin Vickers