Distinguished Professor Ali Riaz

Religion and politics is the topic of Ali Riaz’s edited volume

The interplay of religion and politics in South Asia is explored in the recently published second edition of a book edited by Distinguished Professor Ali Riaz.
Torrence Gardner

Chicago recognizes Juneteenth thanks to the efforts of Illinois State alum Torrence Gardner

Chicago made history this past fall when the city government officially recognized Juneteenth as a day of observance. The citywide acknowledgment was the result of a yearlong effort led by...
Ali Riaz

Riaz publishes on pandemic governance in Bangladesh

Distinguished Professor Ali Riaz has published a policy brief on the governance in Bangladesh during Covid-19 pandemic and delivered keynote on the issue in a webinar.
Bourke at desk

From Illinois State to Peoria: Small distance, big impact

The Stevenson Center's long-established graduate programs are different from more conventional master's degrees through a balanced approach to education in community and economic development.
group photo of mock trial team

Mock Trial Team Advances to Championship Tournament

The Redbird mock trial team will be participating in the Opening Championship Rounds Series sponsored by the American Mock Trial Association (AMTA).
Sohel Rana standing in front of a white car

Sohel presented at the 14th Annual Conference of the South Asian Studies Association

Sohel Rana, a second-year graduate student, has presented his paper at the South Asian Studies Association (SASA) Annual Conference.
Ali Riaz at the podium

Riaz publishes on media ownership pattern in Bangladesh

Distinguished Professor Ali Riaz has published a coauthored study on the ownership of media in Bangladesh. ‘Who owns the media in Bangladesh’ examines the patterns of media ownership and its...
Sohel Rana headshot

Sohel publishes in Ali Riaz’s edited book on the public perception on religion-politics mix in South Asia

Sohel Rana, a second-year graduate student, has published a book chapter titled “The God Gap? Public Perception on Religion-Politics Mix in South Asia,” in the volume Religion and Politics in...
surface of the water

Director of Tennessee Water Resources Research Center to speak on water sustainability

The Center for a Sustainable Water Future will present Dr. John Schwartz, speaking about the Fescue Belt in the United States.
Schroeder Hall

Wang interviewed by Korean Radio on China, Taiwan, and U.S. relations

T.Y. Wang, University Professor and Chair of the Department of Politics and Government, was interviewed by This Morning, a current affairs program of TBS eFM which is the first all-English radio...