Al Bowman, Illinois State University’s 17th president, officially retired from that office on May 15.

Illinois State Provost Sheri Noren Everts, above, will serve as interim president until August 14. Everts has been Illinois State’s provost since July 2008.

Bowman, who has been with the University for 35 years, the last 10 as president, announced his retirement last December.

Timothy J. Flanagan has been named as Illinois State’s 18th president and will take office August 15. Flanagan, who is currently the president of Framingham State University in Framingham, Mass., was named Illinois State’s president after a national search.